National Academy of Science Standards

Physical Science

The standards for physical science, life science, and earth and space science describe the subject matter of science using three widely accepted divisions of the domain of science. Science subject matter focuses on the science facts, concepts, principles, theories, and models that are important for all students to know, understand, and use.

  • Properties and changes of properties in matter
  • Motions and forces
  • Transfer of energy